Day of Rest


Today, I have chosen to take a day of rest. Yeap, That’s right, a WHOLE DAY ( well we’ll see if that sticks)

So nice out!! And the Buckets are FULL!! I love rain water for the garden and hair!! So I have quite a few ALL FILLED UP already!

So Why a rest day?

  1. Builds Strength by allowing muscles to restore
  2. Replenish Glycogen
  3. Reduce Fatigue
  4. Prevents injury
  5. Increases Blood Volume
  6. Improves endurance

 

German Silva

Rest days do not have to be FULL ON NOTHING DAYS. They can be just a far lighter workout than you have been doing. I read in Runners World Magazine, that German Silva (2 time NYC marathon Winner) would lightly jog 3 miles on his rest day, focusing on keeping his heart rate below the 60% of Maximum. This served to loosen his muscles and Relax his mind.

So I am no Marathon Runner, so a 3 mile jog is NOT resting to me so far. So what do we do on rest days?

You can do nothing at all OR

You can do a light jog or walk.

A 15 minute yoga session.

Light stretching.

MASSAGE!

Go for a Swim.

Or just Vegg.

This is a Great day to do a Light Fast, All raw or juicing.

This would be an Awesome place to rest!!

HUH? You ask what will I be doing today???

I will just be relaxing, may hap some stretching as tomorrow is  Day 1 of Week 3 of Pooch to 5 k.

So Off to Rest I go!!

To Your Finest Life!

Tara Woodruff

727 945 2193

JOIN THE CHALLENGE NOW

About Tara Woodruff

I am an entrepreneur. I Escaped the Rat Race after 20 yrs in the Restaurant Biz... Now I Help Ordinary 'Average' People with Extraordinary Dreams do the same so they can Explore their True Passions in Life. My life is rockin'! This Blog is about my Evolution.
This entry was posted in Crossfit, FITNESS, HEALTH and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I Love Feedback, Leave yours here:

